Charlotte County veterans honoured on the 100th anniversary of the RCAF

Second World War veteran Herbert McGee of Saint Andrews will be one of seven RCAF members from Charlotte County honoured at a special ceremony at Government House in Fredericton to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the Royal Canadian Air Force. (Submitted)

FREDERICTION — April 1 marked the 100th anniversary of the Royal Canadian Air Force as a military entity. To celebrate the centennial, a series of distinctive and bilingual banners commemorating the names of 100 RCAF members from New Brunswick will be unveiled at a special ceremony at Government House on Apr 10. (It was originally planned for Apr. 4, but postponed due to a forecasted storm.)

Brenda Murphy, Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick, will join members of the Turnbull (NB) Chapter, Canadian Aviation Historical Society and other dignitaries to honour this centennial anniversary.

Seven members from Charlotte County will be represented in the showcase. Warrant Officer Leonard James Leland, St. George, Corporal Lilian Elizabeth Hawkins, Beaver Harbour, Corporal May Elizabeth Henry, St. George, Flying Officer, Herbert Charles McGee, St. Andrews, Sergeant Hilbert Harry Barry, Beaver Harbour, Honorary Colonel Robert Allan Quartermain, St. Stephen and Flying Officer Hazen Edward Dougherty, St. Stephen, will all have their banners displayed in their community.

The RCAF 100 banner concept was developed by Turnball Chapter members, Harold E. Wright, Eileen Boyd and Greg Boudreau.

The banners are 1.2 metres high and include an image of the aviator, which is a metre high. They include the rank, name, decorations, place of birth and dates of RCAF service.

For those born outside of New Brunswick, their place of residence in the province is also listed.

The Saint Croix Courier