Saint Andrews receives Age Friendly Community recognition

Andrew Sutton/Courier From left: Saint Andrews Mayor Doug Naish, Sandy Morgan, Sue Corbyn, Minister of Social Development Dorothy Shephard, Caroline Davies, Lezlie LeBlanc, Keith Wobma, and Jamie Steel. Shephard traveled from Fredericton on Monday, March 2, to recognize Saint Andrews as an age friendly community.

Saint Andrews – At a ceremony before a regular meeting of town council on Monday, March 2, Minister of Social Development Dorothy Shephard presented the town of Saint Andrews with the Age Friendly Community recognition – the tenth community in New Brunswick to do so.

“The Age-friendly Community Recognition Program helps to strengthen support for seniors and encourages municipalities to respond to the needs of seniors by investing in programs, policies, and infrastructure,” said Shephard.

“In age friendly communities, seniors and older adults feel safe, valued and respected, and they are engaged and active in their community,” she added.

Saint Andrews began work on the age friendly recognition three years ago, when a committee was formed to make recommendations to council. The committee made recommendations which aim to acknowledge diversity, fight ageism and ensure that everyone has the opportunity to fully participate.

Among these recommendations are the importance of barrier-free and affordable housing, accessible public spaces, and transportation which enables people to stay independent and participate in community life. The Age Friendly Recognition program has requirements set by the World Health Organization, and has been adopted by the Government of New Brunswick.